120

There is a myth about how it takes 21 days to form a habit. While there may be some truth to that myth, I think that in general it’s bullshit. There are plenty of habits I should have formed throughout my life if this were true. Exercise is one. Keeping a daily journal of The Journey is another.

It may be that you can form a habit in 21 days, but I also think you can break a habit in just one day. All it takes is a single instance of missing or forgetting to do something, combined with an excuse to justify it and your habit can become broken. A habit only remains a habit if you work at keeping it a habit.

Of course, my logic probably only applies to good habits. Bad habits are much more difficult to break. Breaking a good habit only takes an excuse, while excuses can keep one trapped in a cycle of bad habits.

I know I need to work hard at reforming and keeping the good habits I’ve broken. I also need to work hard at breaking some of the bad habits that have held me back.

Things I need to do include managing my personal time better so that not exercising becomes more difficult to excuse. The same goes for writing and reading. When I was writing every day it was self-motivating. After falling off those rails I’ve found it difficult to get back on track again. I know part of that is that I feel like I don’t always have something new or interesting to write every day. I need to get over that issue and just get back to writing SOMETHING every single day, whether it is new or interesting or not.

So this is today, the 500th time I’ve made this realization. That doesn’t matter as long as I can act on that realization this time.

About danwolfmeyer

Dan is a Freelance Film/TV editor in Los Angeles, California. He lives on a ranch in the San Fernando Valley with his wife and a whole bunch of dogs, cats, horses, ponies, lizards, fish, and one single black sheep. Dan has been editing in the documentary and news genres for over 15 years. He is passionate about film and television and would love to make the move into narrative film and TV, while still retaining the option to edit fascinating documentary projects. (Hire him, really you won't regret it.) He aspires to have a career like Michael Kahn or Sally Menke.
This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

